# EAST FALLOWFIELD TOWNSHIP BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ORGANIZATION MEETING January 2, 2007

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Garth Monaghan followed by a moment of Silent Meditation and Pledge to the Flag.

Present: Garth Monaghan, Chairman; Denny Howell, Vice Chairman; George Broadbent, Member; Mark Espie, Treasurer; Denise Miller, Secretary.

Garth Monaghan motions to elect Mark Espie as Temporary Chairman to start the meeting. Denny Howell 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Espie opens the meeting requesting nominations for the position of Chairman.

Denny Howell nominates Garth Monaghan as Chairman.

George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Espie turns the meeting over to Garth Monaghan.

Mr. Monaghan nominates Denny Howell as Vice-Chairman. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

#### APPOINTMENT OF SOLICITOR

Garth Monaghan recommends retaining Vince Pompo of Lamb, McErlane as Township Solicitor. Denny Howell 2nd. Any discussion? No comments. Vote: Unanimous.

## ESTABLISHING MEETING DATES AND TIME

Garth Monaghan moves to accept the following dates and times: Board of Supervisors will continue on the 4th Wednesday at 6 PM; Park and Recreation on the 6:30 on the 1st Tuesday; Planning Commission 1st Monday at 7:30 PM; Historic Commission 2nd Wednesday at 7:00 PM. Denny Howell 2nd. Discussion? Vote: Unanimous.

## SUPERVISOR LIAISON APPOINTMENTS

Garth Monaghan moves to appoint the following Supervisor Liaisons as follows:

George Broadbent/ Planning Commission

Garth Monaghan

George Broadbent Zoning Hearing Board

George Broadbent Trash collection and Recycling

George Broadbent Library

Garth Monaghan Parks & Recreation

Garth Monaghan Roads

Garth Monaghan/ Police Department

George Broadbent

Garth Monaghan Historic Commission

Denny Howell Emergency Services and Fire Marshall

Denny Howell Office Administration

Denny Howell Newsletter

Denny Howell Financial Administration

George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous

#### APPOINTMENT TO BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

Zoning Hearing Board Garth Monaghan reappoints the following: Peter Davis - Chairman Chris Rechenberg - Member Dennis O'Neill - Member

**Planning Commission** 

Garth Monaghan reappoints the following:

Debra Rush - Chairperson

Roger Brown - Vice Chairman

John Schwab - Member

Jim Durborow - Member

Paul Daniels - Member

Vacant Seat

Vacant Seat

Mr. Monaghan asks for anyone wishing to join, contact the Township Office during regular business hours.

### **Park & Recreation Commission**

Garth Monaghan reappoints the following:

Peter Massaro – Chairman

Joe Dietrich – Vice-Chairman

Cheryl Hanson - Member

Ken Hanson - Member

Jan Bowers - Member

Jim Sisk - Member

Meg Maurer – Member

Brian Carling – Member

Denise Miller - Member

Jeanne Berlin - Member

Mr. Monaghan moves to accept members of the Park & Recreation Commission. Denny Howell 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

## **Historic Commission**

Garth Monaghan reappoints the following:

Paula Coyne - Chairperson

Art Deleo - Vice Chairman

Sue Monaghan - Member

Fred Bissinger – Member

Lee Schlingman – Member

Mr. Monaghan moves to approve members of the Historic Commission. Denny Howell 2nd.

Vote: Unanimous.

Agricultural Security

Paula Coyne Dr. Elkins Scott Wybranski

Mr. Monaghan moves to accept appointments as read to the Agricultural Security. George Broadbent 2nd.

Vote: Unanimous.

Vacancy Board Board of Supervisors Bob Sparr

Mr. Monaghan moves to accept the Board of Supervisors and Bob Sparr as the Vacancy Board. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Administrative Appeals Board Mike Hennessey Martin Ritter Roger Brown

Mr. Monaghan moves to accept appointments as read to the Administrative Appeals Board. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

#### **Auditors**

Garth Monaghan motions to appoint Maulo & Co. as the Township Auditors. Denny Howell 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

State Supervisor's Association Convention Delegates

Garth Monaghan moves to accept Denny Howell as the State Supervisor's Association Convention Delegate. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

## **Other Appointed Officials**

Denise Miller Secretary
Linda Hart Admin. Assistant
Mark Espie Treasurer
Pete Mango Police Chief
Barry Gathercole Road Master

Tim Gathercole Assist. Road Master

Gregory Leonard Road Maint. Worker

Justin Gathercole Road Maint. Worker

Anthony Sirna Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

James Reagan Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Joe Mammerla Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Larry Kretchner Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Randy Davis Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Dale Stoltzfus Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Ed Masterstefone Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Christopher Porter Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Joseph McGinley Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Lou Wilson Emergency & Other Road Work Assist.

Christopher Porter Full Time Police Officer

Ed Masterstefone Full Time Police Officer

Stacy Harper Full Time Police Officer

Brian Simmons Full Time Police Officer

Kevin Simmons Full Time Police Officer

Curt Martinez Part Time Police Officer

Richard McAllister Part Time Police Officer

Karen Wilson Police Administrative Assistant/Code Officer

James Reagan Fire Marshall/Assist. Emergency Management Coordinator

Anthony Sirna Emergency Management Coordinator/Assist. Fire Marshall

Don McDermott Building Inspector/Zoning Officer/Codes

Earned Income Tax Collector Central Tax Bureau

Mr. Monaghan moves to continue Mark Espie as the Township Treasurer. Denny Howell 2nd.

Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Monaghan moves to continue Denise Miller as the Township Secretary. Denny Howell 2nd.

Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Monaghan motions to continue all other listed employess. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous

## **Animal Control**

Mr. Monaghan reappoints Coatesville Animal Control Officer/SPCA

Designated Banks
Commerce Bank
Sovereign Bank
PLIGIT
Contagnilla Sovinga

Coatesville Savings Bank

#### **Other Business**

Mr. Monaghan moves to reappoint Buckley Nagle for Zoning Hearing Issues. Jeffrey Sommer, Representative. Denny Howell 2nd. Vote: Unanimous

Mr. Monaghan moves to reappoint Jamie MacCombie's Engineering Firm to handle Waste Water Treatment in the Township. Denny Howell 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Monaghan moves to reappoint Chris Della Penna as Township Engineer and Resolution 2007-01 Mr. Della Penna's rate schedule. A copy will be available in the Township Office. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Mr. Monaghan moves to accept The Brandywine Conservancy Consultant Rates for 2007. There is a dam in the park that The Brandywine Conservancy has agreed to monitor. George Broadbent 2nd. Any discussion? None. Vote: Unanimous.

## **Public Participation**

Resident, Ed Porter asks who determines the number of seats for the Board. Mr. Monaghan states it goes by the population.

Mr. Monaghan calls for any other comments. None at this time.

Adjournment: Mr. Monaghan motions to adjourn the organizational meeting. George Broadbent 2nd. Vote: Unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

**Denise Miller, Secretary**