## East Fallowfield Township Planning Commission

2264 Strasburg Road 610-384-7144

Chairman: Deborah Rush Vice-Chairman: Roger Brown Member: Paul Daniels Member: Jim Durborow Member: John Schwab Member: Jim Weeks Member: Bernard Beegle

## **Approved Minutes**

November 5, 2007 Planning Commission Meeting Minutes

The meeting was called to order by Chairperson, Deborah Rush @ 7:35 p.m.

**IN ATTENDANCE:** Members: John Schwab, Paul Daniels, Jim Durborow, Jim Weeks, Bernard Beegle and Secretary Deirdre K. Desiderio. (Absent: Vice-Chairperson Roger Brown out of town on business).

<u>Approval of August 6, 2007 Minutes</u>: John Schwab moves to approve the August 6th minutes. Second: Jim Weeks. Vote: Unanimous. The motion was passed.

<u>Approval of September 10, 2007 Minutes:</u> John Schwab states on page 4, paragraph 2 should be corrected to say: "I wouldn't recommend putting it in". John Schwab moves to approve September 10<sup>th</sup> minutes. Second: Jim Durborow. Voted: Jim Weeks, Deborah Rush, and Paul Daniels. Abstaining was Bernard Beegle due to no attendance at Sept 6<sup>th</sup> meeting. The motion was passed.

<u>Approval of October 1, 2007 Minutes</u>: Deborah Rush moves to approve October 1<sup>st</sup> minutes. Second: John Schwab. Vote: Unanimous.

<u>Coatesville Area School District – South Brandywine Middle School – Brian Bingeman:</u> Proposing a number of additions to bring the school to current educational standards. Mr. Bingeman is here tonight to bring the Planning Commission up to date.

Deborah Rush asks if Mr. Bingeman's current Plan applies to Chris Della Penna's review letter of 9/28/07. He said he was basically at the meeting tonight to just let the Planning Commission know where they stand with the Plans. They will be making a resubmission to Chris with this revised Plan. They have done some infiltration testing on site for storm water and BMP controls for EMS which will be incorporated into his engineering comments.

The other issue is landscaping. They want to seek relief of some ordinances with certain landscaping issues. With this project there are a number of landscaping requirements based upon 1). Perimeter Buffering (monetary) – PC Members are split 50/50 about whether to adjust the numbers of required trees on the perimeter; 2) Buffering the building façade (safety issue) – All PC members agree that some trees and shrubs are needed but no complete waiver 3). Entire property length (need to find out the size of the buildings before voting on this criteria);

4). Road Front – All PC members agree that no waiver be given; 5). Square footage for parking and number of parking spaces. They are not seeking a waiver.

Bernard Beegle asks, "why the variances - for what reasons"? Mr. Bingeman says primarily for two reasons: 1). Monetary and 2) Safety- there is going to be building mounted cameras surveying the grounds on site lines and looking out in the parking lots.

Deborah Rush explains to the committee that there are two separate concerns: 1) the replanting of plants that were removed and 2) the landscaping requirements for developments; therefore, what Mr. Bingeman is saying is that particular landscaping issues shouldn't be applicable because it is a school and for security reasons there shouldn't be trees in the way of security cameras.

Mr. Bingeman states their intention is to go in front of the Zoning Hearing Board. Deborah Rush states that the Zoning Hearing Board usually would like a recommendation from the Planning Commission before it goes in front of them.

Brian Bingeman needs to revise his Landscaping Plans separate from the Elementary and Middle School before he asks for a waiver from the landscaping ordinance requirements.

Mr. Bingeman ended with saying that he will resubmit his plans as advised.

## SEWAGE FACILITIES PLANNING MODULES:

<u>The Barach Sewage Facilities Planning Module Section 4A</u> was signed by Deborah Rush as Township Planning Commission Chairperson

<u>The Abrahams Sewage Facilities Planning Module Section 4A</u> was signed by Deborah Rush as Township Planning Commission Chairperson.

<u>The Cardinal Drive Sewer Line Extension Planning Module Section 4A</u> was signed by Deborah Rush as Township Planning Commission Chairperson.

Any questions can be directed to Jamie MacCombie pertaining to details of the above modules.

<u>Adjournment:</u> Deborah Rush motioned to adjourn the Planning Commission Meeting at 9:15pm. Paul Daniels second. Vote: Unanimous.

Respectfully submitted,

Deirdre K. Desiderio, Secretary